Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Wraps

11 Jul

If you know me you know I LOVE anything buffalo flavored. When I found this recipe I knew I just had to try it. It is a great way to get my buffalo craving satisfied without having to make my DELICIOUS but very fatty buffalo chicken dip. Enjoy 🙂

Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Adapted from: SkinnyTaste

Ingredients:

For the chicken:
3-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 celery stalk (I don’t use because I don’t like celery)
1/2 onion, diced
1 garlic clove, minced
16 oz fat free, low sodium chicken broth
1/2 cup hot cayenne pepper sauce (I use Frank’s)
 
For the wraps:
6 large lettuce leaves, Bibb or Iceburg
1.5 cups shredded carrots
2 large celery stalks, cut into 2 inch matchsticks (again I leave out)
Blue cheese crumbles (optional)
Blue cheese or Ranch dressing (optional but highly recommended)
 

Directions:

In a crock pot combine chicken, onions, celery stalk, garlic, and broth (enough to cover your chicken, use water if the can of broth isn’t enough). Cover and cook on high for 4 hours.
 
 
Remove the chicken from pot, reserve 1/2 cup broth and discard the rest. Shred the chicken with two forks, return to the slow cooker with the 1/2 cup brother and the house sauce. Cook on high for additional 30 minutes. Makes about 3 cups of chicken.
 
To prepare the lettuce wraps: place some buffalo chicken on each leaf, top with shredded carrots, celery, and dressing of your choice. I also added blue cheese crumbles to get that extra flavor but if you want to keep it healthier they still turn out yummy. Wrap up and start eating!
 
Leave a Reply

